You Never Have Nothing To Write

500 word challenge

1/5/17communications 1

“You Never Have Nothing To Write”

I once read a quote, though I can’t remember where, that said, “You never have nothing to write.” That made sense to me at the time because, after all, there is always something you can write about. There are flowers, animals, jobs, weather, opinions (oh how there are opinions), politics, love, sorrow and so much more.

However, on only the third day of this writing challenge I accepted where I have to write 500 words a day for 31 days I find myself at the keyboard and my mind is blank! I have nothing to write!

I was a up at 5:30 am and had so many thoughts on what I would write about and I even started hand writing what I decided on the material I had chosen. But alas, I had to go to work and by the time I got home and supper was over I went to start writing and I could not find my notes. I not only couldn’t find my notes but I couldn’t even remember what it was I was planning to write about, ugh!

I have come to realize that much of my inspiration comes early in the morning and even sometimes in the middle of the night. It is probably the only time God can get my attention.The ideas are all so clear at the time but if I don’t get up and write it down I often lose it. Therefore, I believe after today I will be doing as much of my writing as possible in the morning, before work. If I can’t do that I will at least put my ideas on the computer while they are fresh in my mind and put it together later.

Now the issue is what time to get up. I am an early riser by nature but in order to be on time to work I will need to get up by 5 am or earlier and do it consistently. In other words I need to be more disciplined in scheduling my time to make sure I have time set aside for writing.

I love to write and it brings me joy. I know writing is what I am suppose to be doing but I have had trouble seeing it as worthwhile use of my time. When I am sitting writing I often think of other things I feel I should be doing, even feel like I am being lazy.

The more I write though, the more I know it is worthwhile, if for no one else but the writer.  I believe there is value in sharing experiences both for the person sharing and those who can relate to the experiences we share.

Well I am close to my 500 words (so thankful for word count) so I will wind this exercise up by sharing my insight into all of this. It turns out that it is true, “You never have nothing to write” and if you don’t write an idea down you will lose it .

So I will write to practice the skill, write to share experiences, write to encourage others, write for the sheer joy of writing, but write because there is always something to write about!

Won’t you join me:-)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You Never Have Nothing To Write

  1. I, for one, love hearing those somethings you find to write about. I know I have been out fo the loop lately, and not caught up with my reading as much as I would like, but I have been writing–alot! And processing, alot! So glad to have a few minutes this morning to check in with you at the Bird House. I am always blessed while here, and especially so after being here. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

