Good Intentions Are Not Enough

 

writing

500 Words a Day Challenge

1/3/17

Good Intentions Are Not Enough

My intentions for over ten years has been to become a writer. I thought about it, talked about it and read about it and did a Bible study for Christian writers. I even started a blog, View From The Bird House, and wrote several blog posts. But the one thing I didn’t do was build a writing habit and think of myself as a writer. It was what I wanted to do but didn’t really believe I was good enough to do it or to call myself a writer.

Because of my age I thought it was to late to start writing. After all I was not well known except in my own family, friends and church family circles. I was a nobody and who would want to read what I wrote anyway.

As a retired nurse, wife, mom, grandma and great grandma what would I have to write about that others would be interested in. Had it not been for a writer friend I would not have even tried, I thank God for her because she opened up the joy of writing for me. And after much prayer and meditation on Scripture God confirmed in me that He was calling me to write and share a message of hope and encouragement to others.

God had given me a gift and desire for writing and he confirmed that through that close friend who is a writer, others who have commented on my blogs and most of all because I find real joy when I write.

So, now I am struggling to learn how to write and to develop a writing habit so that I can develop my blog. That is what brought me to accept this challenge to write 500 words a day for 31 days.

My long-term goal is to one day finish a book I started (barely, I think I have the dedication and intro done). A book that I hope will bring hope and encouragement to those who are struggling with regrets over choices made in the past, discouragement with the present and feel there is no hope for their future.

The book is based on a true story of one who went from favor to fear, from fear to failure, from failure to forgiveness and a fresh start. It isn’t my story, although it could be.

We all struggle at times, we all have fears and failures, and we all need a fresh start at times so I hope to take my readers down the path from regrets over fears and failures to victory and a fresh start in whatever area they are struggling.

These are my intentions, my purposes for writing. But they will never happen if I am not writing.

So, I join you fellow writers in this challenge and I welcome your encouragement and your critique because I need that to help me become the best writer I can be.

Because intentions are not enough!

3 Comments

Filed under accountability, assignment, communication, enjoyment

3 responses to “Good Intentions Are Not Enough

  1. Intentions are NOT ENOUGH! You are so right, my friend. We must move out of the intentional phase and into action, if we want to see any progress inside God’s kingdom. He did not call us to simply sit and ponder, although pondering is an essential part of the writing process, but to live out our faith through those gifts He has given us. When we do, amazing things happen.

    I love, love this post. Keep writing, keep sharing, and keep being real. People are thirsty for the truth these days. Tell them how it is from God’s perspective and you’ll never go wrong. Thanks for writing this, Jean. I loved reading it!

  2. Jean Bird

    Thank you my friend!
    I could use your prayers as I have 30 more days in this challenge.
    But I need the challenges and the accountability factor (that would be you dear lady!) To stay on track.

  3. Donna Willson

    Loving these writing blogs of yours. I have journaled different times over the years but haven’t tried a 31 day test. Thanks for letting us into your experience. Love in Jesus

Leave a Reply

