Going Out While Staying In

o-OLDER-COUPLE-ARGUING-facebook

 

I was recently challenged to do a 7 Day Experiment in Intentional Living from John Maxwell’s blog.

The first day of the experiment was about putting family first and the exercise was to pick a family member to do something special for them. It was suggested to take them out to a place that I knew they would enjoy. (if your interested in doing this experiment go to John C. Maxwell and Intentional Living).

My husband is the family member I wanted to do something with and for because I know that after 50 plus years of marriage we can get into a rut now and then and take each other for granted. But I had a problem because going out was not in our budget that week. As a retired couple on a fixed income we have to watch our pennies you know.
As I contemplated what I could do for him I realized that I could go out of my way and comfort zone to do something with him right here at home.

My husband is a real Sci-fy kind of guy and I am soooo not a Sci-fy gal! So in the evenings he graciously hands me the remote and has me watch what I am comfortable with, or if there is a Sci-fy that he really wants to watch I go to the den and read while he watches it.
On day one of the 7 Day Experiment we stayed in and I fixed him a special dinner and after dishes were done and we settled in for the evening I gave him the remote and told him to watch whatever he would like, even the Sci-fy channel and then stayed in the room with him to watch it.
Before we went to bed that night I gave him a card with a poem I wrote ( I use the term poem loosely here) noted below:

“I fixed you a special dinner and gave the remote to you
Because I love you and
I know that you love me too!”

Needless to say he was surprised and pleased and he even mentioned it the next day!
But most of all I was absolutely giddy when I went to bed that night and the world seemed a better place over all! It is amazing what a blessing can come from one little act of kindness, and especially when that act of kindness is for someone you love.
I plan to make it a regular event on my calendar each month!

When was the last time you went out of your comfort zone to spend some special time with a loved one, a spouse, a significant other, a child or parent?

Choose someone today, and don’t forget to write them a note at the end of the day to let them know they are special to you.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Children, communication, humility, Kindness, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

