Early Birds & Night Owls

“Then God said, ‘Let there be light’; and there was light. and God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness. God called the light Day, and the darkness He called Night. So the evening and the morning were the first day.” Genesis 1:3-5

“Then God saw everthing that He had made, and indeed it was very good. So the evening and the morning were the sixth day.” Genesis 1:31

Are you someone who is up with the sun or are you just getting going when the sun is setting?

An early bird is a person who usually gets up early in the morning and goes to bed early in the evening and the opposite is a night owl, someone who usually stays up late and may feel most awake in the evening.

I happen to be an early bird (pun intended)  and enjoy being up ahead of everyone else to enjoy some quiet time. This love for mornings most likely began when we had six children at home and I would get up an hour ahead of them in order to have a cup of coffee in peace and quiet before starting the days routine, which was usually anything but routine.

I love the idea of a new day, a fresh start. I love the sights and sounds of a new morning, the sunrise, the birds chirping, and in the winter a fresh new fallen snow that has not yet been spoiled by tires, boots or shovels. I love that first cup of freshly brewed coffee as I communicate with God through His Creation, His word, and in prayer. This has to be the best part of the day!

Over the years I have developed some attitude about those who sleep past 6 am. I would sit up on my lofty perch and tell them “You are sleeping through the best part of the day.” I just couldn’t understand those “night owls” who were out on a limb and missing out on the beauty of early morning.

Recently one of our granddaughters (who is a “night owl”), unknowingly,  opened my eyes to my limited view of the beauty and blessings in creation from my perch.  She shared with me how her most productive and creative times were in the evenings and reminded me how inspiring the sites and sounds of the night can be, like a beautiful sunset, an orange harvest moon or the sound of the Whip-poor-will’s song. And what about a clear night sky with a host of stars brightly lighting up the darkness.

Yes, I was reminded that all of creation was made by God for  His pleasure and ours and He said it is all good. Whether we are early birds or night owls He has something for us. He does not slumber or sleep and we can come see His handy work any time of day or night.

By going out on a limb and leaving the comfort of our own perch we enlarge our view and have a better understanding of those who have a different view than ours.

This “early bird” grama will be setting up an evening with her granddaughter to hear and see more from the “night owl’s” view for sure!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under assignment, faith stages, Word Press

4 responses to “Early Birds & Night Owls

  1. For the record I too am an early bird. If a task ain’t done by 9 am it may not get done that day. I love the freshness and promise of the new day.
    Really enjoying your posts Mrs Bird 🙂

    • I am still figuring out how to connect to other writers and read there blogs. Michelle gave me info about where to go to do that so plan on doing some reading this afternoon.
      I was doing the prompts instead of the assignments for writing 101 so now I have to catch up on the assignments I was suppose to do. Hope I will do better when I get used to how to maneuver the sites.
      Thank you for your support in following my blog.
      I saw your Craft blogging site and it looks great, I am one of those craft challenged folks so really appreciate that gift in others.

  2. I, too, really enjoyed this post, Jean. Really great imagery here, and so thoughtful. It occurs to me that being high and lifted up isn’t such a bad position from which to observe the world. What I like about your musing here, though, is that you’re not afraid to slip down off that perch and share some night owl maneuvers with your grand baby. So, so very important!

Leave a Reply

