Not Your Ordinary Bird House

Welcome to Jean’s Bird House!

I am very new at this blogging, although I have enjoyed reading other’s blogs. Encouraged by a dear friend and sister to share through blogging here goes!

This may not be exactly what one would expect in a blog with this title, but hopefully as I begin to develop the conversation you will see this is no ordinary Bird house but that life in a Bird House can be filled with experiences God can use as very teachable moments, to say the least. For this Bird house doesn’t hang in a tree or sit on a pole in the yard but is a home filled with much activity and many memories found here, and in other Bird Houses over the years.

It is a place where children and grandchildren come and go and come back again and where strangers have been entertained. Some have come for a short time and then were gone, and some remained and became good friends. But none have come by coincidence for all were opportunities for blessings sent by God even though we may not have recognized the blessing at the time.
We have shared in both laughter and tears; struggles and times of contentment; victories and defeats. We have worked through many of lifes challenges together and shared in many of lifes blessings all because of Christ’s presence in our lives.

We should not hesitate to help or extend hospitality to strangers–for sometimes the strangers we’re helping turn out to have been sent by God. We never know through whom God will speak to our lives, so we should never turn down an opportunity to use our homes to serve.

Now I can tell you this has not always been my attitude and because of that I have probably missed out on some real blessing opportunities for others and myself. But as I yield to the Father’s will (sometimes more slowly than others) and serve in obedience those He brings to the Bird House, there will always be blessings in spite of and even in the midst of the most difficult circumstances.

Each new day brings opportunities to extend ourselves to others, and I often get too busy to even see the need right in front of me. My prayer is for God to open my eyes to see the needs and to supply me with what I need to accomplish those things He has ordained for me to do in His plan and for His glory.

“Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” Heb. 13:2

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Not Your Ordinary Bird House

  1. I loved reading your first blog post, Jean, and getting a little glimpse of life from inside The Bird House. 🙂 I have never been good at the hospitality thing, and find I am super nervous in the role of hostess. I look forward to reading all about how you manage to pull it off, Bird-style. I’ve gotta say, you make it look so effortless. But as I have learned, that’s what happens when one uses a spiritual gift under God’s direction. Woohoo, I can’t wait for your next post!

  2. Thanks Lori for giving me the push I needed to get started. 🙂

  3. Growing up in The Bird House was a privilege and helped shape me into the woman I am today; I am forever thankful for that home and thankful that God chose to give me these parents to raise me … I had a truly blessed childhood. Love you Mama …. great blog!!!

    • So thankful for the encouragement Sandy. Because often my view of the Bird House is much different than the view my children have as I see the struggles and sometimes down-right tough times you have had to overcome, but thank God you, and all our children have a more positive view, one of a close family who love and support one another and have fun doing it. You never bring up the hardships only the blessings even in the hardships. I am thankful that my children have learned, if nothing else, to be thankful for what they have and to see the best even in the worst situations. If I leave you with nothing else it must be that God is good all the time!
      Love
      Mama Bird

      • Cindy my Sister, Your so easy to love and we have so much in common. It is a joy to see you share that same hospitality in your home. As we pay it forward the greatest blessings come back to us. You are one of those blessings.

  4. Cindy

    Thank you Nomie for always opening your home up to our family! I remember from the first time I came up with Rick to stay at your house down “in town” in Millerton, you always made me feel very welcome and truly a part of your family! I remember your encouragement to me when the kids were small and things were hectic that this too will pass and how quickly they did grow up! I’ve always felt welcomed, loved, and a part of your home and family! Love your favorite sister in-law, Cindy

Leave a Reply

